Top Ten Tuesday: Best Books You’ve Read in 2017 So Far

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature with new topics every Tuesday, hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. If you would like to participate, the link provided will lead you to the feature and upcoming topics for the rest of the month

Today’s topic is: Best Books You’ve Read in 2017 So Far

**titles of books will link you to goodreads


Here Are My Best Books:

13330943The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern
Genre: Fantasy, Historical, Romance
Thoughts: One of my all time favorite books and my heart will be forever changed by the characters and the circus. I will need to revisit this world sometime in the future again. Review here.

 

 

 

 

 


30312837The You I’ve Never Known by Ellen Hopkins
Genre: YA Contemporary, Verse, Realistic Fiction, LGBTQ+ (Bi)
Thoughts: Ellen Hopkins is definitely a fave auto-buy author for me so when she came out with this book, I was really excited. I wouldn’t suggest reading all of the synopsis because it gives away the whole story, however I have a full review here.

 

 

 

 


25296512-2Pennies (Dollar #1) by Pepper Winters
Genre: Dark New Adult
Thoughts: Absolutely a very hard read but I was addicted and sucked in. This book is about a girl who is sold via sex slavery. We go through her physical, mental, and emotional abuse. I have a mini review here.

 

 

 

 


30325231The Chaos of Longing by K.Y. Robinson
Genre: Poetry
Thoughts: AMAZING!!!! I love love loved it and it will be forever a favorite. I have a full review with some poems attached here.

 

 

 

 

 

 


28243032We Are Okay by Nina LaCour
Genre: YA Contemporary, LGBTQ+
Thoughts: Deep, short, and to the point. A very impactful read and I have a review for here.

 

 

 

 

 

 


29748925Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor
Genre: YA Fantasy
Thoughts: A fantastical lyrical read. I would recommend reading my review here.

 

 

 

 

 

 


32890474The Seafarer’s Kiss by Julia Ember
Genre: YA Fantasy, Retelling, LGBTQ+ (Bi)
Thoughts: For fans of The Little Mermaid and Norse Mythology, please check out this awesome read. I have a review for it here.

 

 

 

 

 

 


35022465Love Poems I found In My Closet by Evette Blue
Genre: Poetry
Thoughts: An amazing collection of poetry that features old poems this author literally found in her closet. I do not have a review but you can check it out on Amazon here.

 

 

 

 

 


35014002Afterlife by Melissa Jennings
Genre: Poetry
Thoughts: Lovely debut dark poetry that deserves to be read. I have a review with some of the poems here.

 

 

 

 

 

 


our dark duetOur Dark Duet (Monsters of Verity #2) by Victoria Schwab
Genre: YA Paranormal, Fantasy
Thoughts: OMG!!! MY HEART STILL HURTS!! I have yet to write a review for this book, it should be out in the next few days. But I absolutely loved it and thought it was a great heart-wrenching conclusion. If you haven’t checked the first book, This Savage Song, I have a review for it here.

 

 

 

 


that is all for today! have you read any of the books mentioned or plan on to? let’s chat in the comments!


Instagram: @chicnerdreads
Twitter: @ChicNerdReads

Advertisements

47 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Best Books You’ve Read in 2017 So Far

    • Oh I hope you like Strange the Dreamer because it is amazing. Although now that I’m thinking about it, maybe you will because The Night Circus and Strange both have similar lyrical writing styles. I need to start Shades of Magic series very soon! Happy reading!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I really really want to read The Chaos of Longing, it sounds so good! Have you read The Princess Saves Herself In This One yet? If you haven’t, I would HIGLY recommend it!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Love the variety Twin!!! you have so many good ones I really need to get to so thank you for lighting that fire under my you know what HAHA! & again my heart is so happy yoy finally read The Night Circus & loved it just as much as I did, def re-reading. GAHHHHH! Our Dark Duet! still *sobs* my ❤ isn't ready but I need to write that review LOL! this was just the first half of the year….the next half is going to have us losing our minds haha! XoXO

    Liked by 1 person

    • TWIN!! I feel like Our Dark Duet is the hardest review to write as of yet. Like what can I say but “PLEASE READ THE DUOLOGY IF YOU HAVENT?! WHAT ARE YOU DOING WITH YOUR LIFE?!” lmao. I am sooooo happy that I loved The Night Circus too, ugh amazing and beautiful. forever a fave. I hope you get to some of these but with your schedule *wink* it is definitely okay if you don’t. I am excited for our thoughts on the second half of the year because I’m sure we will have tons of brand new faves! eeeeeeek

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Great picks for this week Gretchen! I am so so glad you added The Night Circus to this list. It would have been on mine but there were so many amazing books I’ve read so far this year that I had to be harsh and remove re-reads from the running all together. It’s such a beautiful book isn’t it?
    Strange the Dreamer is definitely on my list, and Our Dark Duet would have been too but I made myself pick only one V.E. Schwab book and nothing could beat ACOL! 😀 Good luck with your review for Our Dark Duet too. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ugh The Night Circus is such a beautiful enchanting read and I seriously cannot wait to reread it again sometime in the future. I love the circus, the characters, and writing. Literally everything, I loved. Even the way the book was formatted was amazing.
      Beth the more you talk about Shades of Magic, the more I beat myself up for not reading it sooner. But JULY!!! I will read it in July!! I actually switched my TBR pile around at home two days ago and it’s there =)

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Amazing picks, Gretchen! I am SO HAPPY to see The Night Circus on your list. Isn’t it just the most magical book? And Strange the Dreamer was also a fantastic read. I really enjoyed that one, too. Laini Taylor is such a brilliant author. And I recently finished We Are Okay. I loved how much power that book had in its short length and simple prose. Great post! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Night Circus is so special and amazing!! I’m soooooo happy that you also liked Strange the Dreamer and We Are Okay. We Are Okay is sooo beautiful regardless of how short it is, the message is empowering. Thank you Azia ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I loved Our Dark Duet! Yeah, the ending was heart wrenching! Now I can’t wait to read Shades of Magic series. I still haven’t read The Night Circus and The strange the dreamer but I’m hoping to get to them soon. I’ve been hearing great things about We are Okay and I’m glad to hear that you loved it! I’ll definitely check it out. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • OMG yes, Our Dark Duet definitely was heart wrenching, I legit cried and screamed lol. I also cannot wait to read the Shades of Magic series. I hope you really like The Night Circus and Strange the Dreamer, I’ll be curious to know what you think. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  6. The You I’ve Never Known is one of the best books I’ve read of 2017, too. It was my first Ellen Hopkins book, so I didn’t really know what to expect going into it (other than the fact that it was probably going to be intense, lol), and I was completely blown away! She is an incredible writer!
    Also, I’ve been wanting to read The Night Circus for so long. I really need to read it soon! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I still need to start the Seafarers’s Kiss! I have had it since you first reviewed and recommended ❤ I should see if it has audio to help me along. I am working more and so busy that I seem to have little reading time.. booo. Ah the Night Circus.. My book love. I am sad to say I lent this to a friend and now no longer have a copy 😦 It was not returned.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I feel like if you loved Strange the Dreamer, then you might just love The Night Circus. I say that because of the similar styles in lyrical writing, rich detailing, and slowish pace but still amazing to read lol. I really hope you like it ❤

      Like

  8. Oh man!!! I love this list. The Night Circus is the only book on this list I’ve read myself– and it’s probably my favorite book of all time. I am so happy to see it here!! Strange the Dreamer, The Seafarer’s Kiss, and We Are Okay are all on my TBR. It looks like I need to bump them up. 😀 It also makes me happy to see so many poetry books here. I’ve slacked on reading non-fiction and poetry lately. I should get back to working on that.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I absolutely love The Night Circus, it was rich and fascinating. I wouldn’t mind getting a sequel for that one lol.

      I really hope you enjoy Strange the Dreamer, The Seafarer’s Kiss, and We Are Okay. They are all so different but really great in their own way.

      Happy reading!

      Liked by 1 person

      • I’m on the fence about a sequel for The Night Circus. On one hand I adore the world, the characters, and the whole premise. I’d love to see what happens to the circus as time continues. But, on the other hand I don’t want this wonderful book marred by a potentially less-than-equal sequel. I don’t want something forced. I love how The Night Circus ended and I would be fine preserving that moment forever.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s