Afterlife by Melissa Jennings Mini Poetry Review

Title: Afterlife
Author: Melissa Jennings
Publisher: CreateSpace
Format: Paperback
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

35014002

Synopsis from Goodreads:

“The sun does not rise when you need it most. You rise instead.”
Afterlife is a collection of poetry about catharsis, self-love, and self-revolution. Afterlife is a journey from the darkness to the light again, and again, and again.


This poetry book is now officially a part of my favorites collection because OMG!!! you need to read this one and pick it up. Melissa definitely took me through all the feels with this one. If you love dark poetry that is empowering and speaks for itself, you’ll have to pick this one up for sure.

Melissa Jennings talks about mental health, pain, self-love, recovery, and so much more. The author makes mentions of different beautiful metaphors in a dark way that will have you THINK. Although I consider this dark poetry, they definitely uplift the reader to light and accepting the light that we are. Through all these beautiful dark poems, I found strength and power. AMAZING! And I cannot wait to read more by this author!


some of my favorites:

THE GHOST WE HIDE

Don’t let the ghost stay:

They’ve haunted for long enough.

It’s time to free their souls

From the home inside your head,

So they don’t live long enough

To become skeletons.


LET THE GODDESSES TAKE ME AWAY

I will end

The way

I began:

A child of chaos.


DROWNING REFLECTION

I look in
The mirror,
Searching
For answers,

But,

My hands
Are bleeding
From the glass,
As if

Time
was
slipping
out
of
my
grasp


if you’re interested in checking out this beautiful collection click here:
Amazon USA | Amazon UK


Instagram: @chicnerdreads
Twitter: @ChicNerdReads
Goodreads: Gretchen (ChicNerdReads)

9 thoughts on “Afterlife by Melissa Jennings Mini Poetry Review

  1. […] Afterlife by Melissa Jennings ★★★★★ Genre: Poetry I cannot stop gushing about this collection. It’s amazing and dark!! I love love loved it and I cannot wait to read more about this author. I have a review with some poems here. […]

    Like

Leave a comment