Top Ten Tuesday: Best Books You’ve Read in 2017 So Far

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature with new topics every Tuesday, hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. If you would like to participate, the link provided will lead you to the feature and upcoming topics for the rest of the month

Today’s topic is: Best Books You’ve Read in 2017 So Far

**titles of books will link you to goodreads


Here Are My Best Books:

13330943The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern
Genre: Fantasy, Historical, Romance
Thoughts: One of my all time favorite books and my heart will be forever changed by the characters and the circus. I will need to revisit this world sometime in the future again. Review here.

 

 

 

 

 


30312837The You I’ve Never Known by Ellen Hopkins
Genre: YA Contemporary, Verse, Realistic Fiction, LGBTQ+ (Bi)
Thoughts: Ellen Hopkins is definitely a fave auto-buy author for me so when she came out with this book, I was really excited. I wouldn’t suggest reading all of the synopsis because it gives away the whole story, however I have a full review here.

 

 

 

 


25296512-2Pennies (Dollar #1) by Pepper Winters
Genre: Dark New Adult
Thoughts: Absolutely a very hard read but I was addicted and sucked in. This book is about a girl who is sold via sex slavery. We go through her physical, mental, and emotional abuse. I have a mini review here.

 

 

 

 


30325231The Chaos of Longing by K.Y. Robinson
Genre: Poetry
Thoughts: AMAZING!!!! I love love loved it and it will be forever a favorite. I have a full review with some poems attached here.

 

 

 

 

 

 


28243032We Are Okay by Nina LaCour
Genre: YA Contemporary, LGBTQ+
Thoughts: Deep, short, and to the point. A very impactful read and I have a review for here.

 

 

 

 

 

 


29748925Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor
Genre: YA Fantasy
Thoughts: A fantastical lyrical read. I would recommend reading my review here.

 

 

 

 

 

 


32890474The Seafarer’s Kiss by Julia Ember
Genre: YA Fantasy, Retelling, LGBTQ+ (Bi)
Thoughts: For fans of The Little Mermaid and Norse Mythology, please check out this awesome read. I have a review for it here.

 

 

 

 

 

 


35022465Love Poems I found In My Closet by Evette Blue
Genre: Poetry
Thoughts: An amazing collection of poetry that features old poems this author literally found in her closet. I do not have a review but you can check it out on Amazon here.

 

 

 

 

 


35014002Afterlife by Melissa Jennings
Genre: Poetry
Thoughts: Lovely debut dark poetry that deserves to be read. I have a review with some of the poems here.

 

 

 

 

 

 


our dark duetOur Dark Duet (Monsters of Verity #2) by Victoria Schwab
Genre: YA Paranormal, Fantasy
Thoughts: OMG!!! MY HEART STILL HURTS!! I have yet to write a review for this book, it should be out in the next few days. But I absolutely loved it and thought it was a great heart-wrenching conclusion. If you haven’t checked the first book, This Savage Song, I have a review for it here.

 

 

 

 


that is all for today! have you read any of the books mentioned or plan on to? let’s chat in the comments!


Instagram: @chicnerdreads
Twitter: @ChicNerdReads

e-book haul!

I haven’t hauled any books since my December/January Book Haul post!! Therefore, I will be doing different type of book haul post (e-book, poetry, and physical copy). Let’s get started with what I accumulated per month!

February:


March:


April:


i also accumulated some poetry e-books but i will be placing them in the poetry book haul. stay tuned for more hauls! have you read any of these books? let’s talk in the comments!


Instagram: @chicnerdreads
Twitter: @ChicNerdReads
Goodreads: Gretchen (ChicNerdReads)

Mini Non Spoiler Review: We Are Okay by Nina Lacour

Title: We Are Okay
Author: Nina Lacour
Genre: YA Contemporary, LGBTQ+
Publisher: Dutton Books for Young Readers
Format: Hardcover
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

28243032

Synopsis from Goodreads:

You go through life thinking there’s so much you need…

Until you leave with only your phone, your wallet, and a picture of your mother.

Marin hasn’t spoken to anyone from her old life since the day she left everything behind. No one knows the truth about those final weeks. Not even her best friend, Mabel. But even thousands of miles away from the California coast, at college in New York, Marin still feels the pull of the life and tragedy she’s tried to outrun. Now, months later, alone in an emptied dorm for winter break, Marin waits. Mabel is coming to visit, and Marin will be forced to face everything that’s been left unsaid and finally confront the loneliness that has made a home in her heart.


 

I usually separate my reviews with summary/plot, writing, characters, and thoughts. However, this book is really short and I feel like I would give everything away by going into detail.

This is my first Nina Lacour book and I have to say that I now want to read everything by this author. Her writing is phenomenal. But!!!! I have to slow down on my book buying and read the ones I have on my shelf first lol. So maybe by Fall, I’ll buy her other books.

We Are Okay is very melancholic. The tone is set from the very first page till the last page. I had tears in my eyes! This story is about a girl, Marin, who one day leaves everything from her old life behind. Till her best friend from her old life, Mabel, comes to visit. And Mabel isn’t coming over to just check on her but also to confront her (not in a bad way at all).

This book is told in alternating chapters of present and past time. The setting also takes a big role with the tone. Winter snowstorm in a big university campus that Marin happens to be alone because everyone is on Christmas/New Year vacation (present chapters). Summer with Marin who is a completely different person, happier (past chapters). With each page turned, I was filled with more questions of what had happened to Marin. Why did she up and leave? Slowly but surely everything started clicking and making sense.

This story is about loss, tragedy, and grief. About the hard parts in life that shape you. About how sometimes you end up abandoning yourself when something bad happens to you. I loved how raw this book is. And the profound message Nina Lacour had hidden within the conversations of Marin and Mabel. That’s what made this book an instant fave. I’ve said this a million times before but I love when books make you think.

This book is not entirely plot driven but more character driven. I also loved how we have queer characters and WoC but it wasn’t used as plot device, it wasn’t even spoken about. The story is an everyday story and I appreciate that so much. As a WoC and part of the LGTBQ+ spectrum, THANK YOU NINA!!

I loved both Marin and Mabel oh so much. Best friends since young and the relationship they have with one another is so beautiful, raw, and honest. We also get to meet Mabel’s parents and they’re amazing as well. I love how Mabel’s parents were very active in their daughters life whereas in other YA novels, I feel like we don’t see that too often.

This is a simple, gorgeous, sad read but I would highly recommend it to everyone.


have you read this? thoughts? let’s chat in the comments!

Instagram: @chicnerdreads
Twitter: @ChicNerdReads
Goodreads: Gretchen (ChicNerdReads)

Standalone Sunday

Hello everyone! Standalone Sunday is a weekly meme created by Megan@bookslayerReads. This meme is about Standalone book (that is not part of a series) that you loved and would recommend. Check out her lovely blog, she’s a sweetheart ❤


19547856-2Sixteen-year-old and not-so-openly gay Simon Spier prefers to save his drama for the school musical. But when an email falls into the wrong hands, his secret is at risk of being thrust into the spotlight. Now Simon is actually being blackmailed: if he doesn’t play wingman for class clown Martin, his sexual identity will become everyone’s business. Worse, the privacy of Blue, the pen name of the boy he’s been emailing, will be compromised.

With some messy dynamics emerging in his once tight-knit group of friends, and his email correspondence with Blue growing more flirtatious every day, Simon’s junior year has suddenly gotten all kinds of complicated. Now, change-averse Simon has to find a way to step out of his comfort zone before he’s pushed out—without alienating his friends, compromising himself, or fumbling a shot at happiness with the most confusing, adorable guy he’s never met.

Click here if you would like to add it to your Goodreads TBR


I highly recommend this book, it’s very cute and funny. If you’re looking for a diverse read, then I would suggest this one all the way. Have you read this book? What were your thoughts? Let me know in the comments! I hope you enjoy your day!


Follow me on Twitter: @ChicNerdReads
Friend me on Goodreads: Gretchen (ChicNerdReads)

Blue is the Warmest Color – Spoiler Free Review

Title: Blue is the Warmest Color
Author: Julie Maroh
Genre: Graphic Novel, LGTBQ+
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

aTqrzKLTM

17465574

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Originally published in French as Le bleu est une couleur chaude, Blue is the Warmest Color is a graphic novel about growing up, falling in love, and coming out. Clementine is a junior in high school who seems average enough: she has friends, family, and the romantic attention of the boys in her school. When her openly gay best friend takes her out on the town, she wanders into a lesbian bar where she encounters Emma: a punkish, confident girl with blue hair. Their attraction is instant and electric, and Clementine find herself in a relationship that will test her friends, parents, and her own ideas about herself and her identity.

First published in French by Belgium’s Glénat, the book has won several awards, including the Audience Prize at the Angoulême International Comics Festival, Europe’s largest. The film Blue Is the Warmest Color won the Palme d’Or at the 2013 Cannes Film Festival.


My Emotional Status At The Moment:

crying.gif

I WANT MY HEART BACK!!!!!!!

Once you finish the first three pages, you will literally be like:

shock

This story was so beautifully done. I can’t say written because it didn’t have a lot of words but the pictures/artwork spoke for itself and said the story. It’s a story about two girls: Emma with the blue hair who knows very well that she is lesbian and is outright about it, and Clementine, who is still figuring herself out but falls for the girl with the blue hair.

Clementine has such a hard time accepting her own sexuality because of what was taught to her. Her parents being both homophobe and teaching her that love between gays is wrong so it’s embedded in her head. She thinks that what she feels for Emma is wrong and not correct. We see the battle she faces internally and socially amongst peers in school.

In the beginning Clementine has a hard time vocalizing her feelings towards Emma. I loved that nothing was fast paced in this graphic novel, although it is short but I saw time pass. I saw how both characters grew and matured. We followed the time frame from teenager to adulthood.

This graphic novel was packed with raw emotions and I was so hooked from page 1. I would highly recommend this book. Not only do we see someone who is on the road of discovering herself. We see what is going on around Clementine when it comes to school and home. Some politics are even including. We also see cheating and how that may affect a person.

Here is a photo of the artwork:

maroh-passing-by

I wanted to keep this review short because I think it’s a graphic novel that everyone should read and experience. Have you read this? What were your thoughts?


Follow me on Twitter: @ChicNerdReads
Friend me on Goodreads: Gretchen (ChicNerdReads)