Our Dark Duet (Monsters of Verity #2) by Victoria Schwab Spoiler Free Book Review

Title: Our Dark Duet (Book #2)
Series: Monsters of Verity
Author: Victoria Schwab
Genre: YA Paranormal, Fantasy
Publisher: Greenwillow
Format: Hardcover
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

our dark duet

Synopsis from Goodreads:

THE WORLD IS BREAKING. AND SO ARE THEY.

KATE HARKER isn’t afraid of monsters. She hunts them. And she’s good at it.

AUGUST FLYNN once yearned to be human. He has a part to play. And he will play it, no matter the cost.

THE WAR HAS BEGUN.

THE MONSTERS ARE WINNING.

Kate will have to return to Verity. August will have to let her back in. And a new monster is waiting—one that feeds on chaos and brings out its victims’ inner demons.

Which will be harder to conquer: the monsters they face, or the monsters within?


***there will be spoilers from the previous book, if you have not yet read This Savage Song, please do not read further. I have a non-spoiler review for This Savage Song here.

Plot

When reading Our Dark Duet, Schwab starts 6 months after the ending of This Savage Song. At first we jump into different perspectives with Kate and August in which we see two different sides of the spectrum. I love how Schwab expands her world and we see what is going on in two different towns, Prosperity and Verity. Kate had ran away to Prosperity in This Savage Song after the death of her father, meanwhile August stays behind in Verity.

In Prosperity, Kate hunts the monsters with a little help of a new set of characters that go by the name of The Wardens. In Verity, August becomes leader of the FTF and makes sure that the only humans who can trespass to safe grounds are humans with pure souls. Kate while in chase of monsters meets a new one that has never been spoken of and/or seen. When meeting this new monster, Chaos the Eater, some things are set in motion and everything goes downhill from there. August although being a leader is still struggling with the monster within himself while dealing with the ones outside and slowly but surely everything starts clicking.

Thoughts

 

Excuse me while I sit here and cry over that heart wrenching ending. WTF Schwab!!! How do you write such amazing books that leave me crying and hurting for dayyysss?!?! HOOOOWWWW?!?! An amazing conclusion to the Monsters of Verity Duology. I have never felt more satisfied by a series. Schwab left me with my heart in my throat and literal tears.

Our Dark Duet is the continuation of This Savage Song. After This Savage Song had ended, I was left in anticipation for this book. I was also left with a lot of questions, wondering about August and Kate and their whereabouts. Left with questions about other characters as well. And Schwab just took my soul and ran with it. Like if August played his violin and left me in bliss.

Our Dark Duet was filled with darkness, poetry, mentions of stardust, edge of your seat scenes, and tons of chaos. READ IT!

I really liked how Schwab gave us character development but also realistic characters that I was able to relate to. She did an amazing job in showing us their thought processing and what they were going through internally. Ugh, I love when books do that!

I absolutely loved the open-ending and just how raw it was. I couldn’t imagine the book with another type of ending, especially when the book was very dark. I found it to be much darker than This Savage Song, to me it was the perfect ending. Schwab had me on the edge of my seat and I couldn’t stop reading the book.

I am hoping that Schwab makes a spin-off for The Wardens.

“…..
so alone
it buries her
that sadness
swallows her
whole
the only sound
a voice
her voice
….”

please click here for credit and link


i would love to chat in the comments about this book!! what were your thoughts?


Instagram: @chicnerdreads
Twitter: @ChicNerdReads

24 thoughts on “Our Dark Duet (Monsters of Verity #2) by Victoria Schwab Spoiler Free Book Review

  1. Great review. You make me want to run to the nearest library/bookstore and pick this up! I haven’t read any of Schwab’s books, but I know I should do it. I also like the fact that it’s a duology since I don’t want to start a new, long series.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great review Twin! I agree 100% it most def was darker than This Savage Song & the character development was A++! lol. I am still reeling from that ending, although perfect it still hurts soooo much! *sobs* I know we share the same feelings & love for this book, you can usually tell with our reviews haha! I am keeping my hopes up for a spin-off featuring The Wardens and/or Soro cuz he was also very interesting & was left somewhat changed by the end, or at least I think he was lol. Gahhhhh! More! we need more! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great Review! I hate sad endings! I should’ve known it’s not going to have an happy ending because it’s a romeo and Juliet retelling. Nevertheless, it was a great book.
    Loved those gif’s btw! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Great review for this book Gretchen. I completely agree with everything you said, especially the ending! Our Dark Duet completely broke my heart but at the same time I just can’t see it ending any other way, both in terms of what happened to the characters and the openness of it all.
    I didn’t think of a spin-off for the Wardens before, but now you’ve mentioned it YES! I need it like I need air to breathe! Also it would be interesting to see more of Prosperity and the monsters they have there.
    Again great review for this book, and I’m so glad you enjoyed it as well! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes I so agree with you on the ending! I couldn’t see it any other way either. I think it went perfect with the darkness of the books.
      THE SPIN-OFF WOULD BE AMAZING! I feel like she left it open for The Wardens and Prosperity..especially since Kate left in the middle of it so they didn’t get closure (in my opinion). therefore, it would make for a great spin-off lol.
      Thank you Beth! Seriously love Schwab and her writing!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Heartbreaking but perfect, part of me feels that may become a theme with the endings to Schwab’s series. 🙂
        God same here, I’d love to see more of them and exploring more of the world outside of Verity would be interesting too.
        That’s all right. 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  5. I had to peek and see how many stars you gave this, but I am awful. I never read reviews for sequels when I have not read the first book 😦 I won’t even read blurbs haha. I have the Savage Song downloaded on my Kindle. I hope it will be one of my reads this summer ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment