Series Saturday

MERRY CHRISTMAS EVE!!!!

Series Saturday is a meme created by P.S. I love that book! in which every Saturday you share your favorite series. And I am so excited!!! Today I am featuring:

Uglies Series by Scott Westerfeld

Genre: YA Dystopian
Year of Publishing: 2005
Publishing House: Simon and Schuster
Order of Books: Uglies, Pretties, Specials, Extras

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Tally is about to turn sixteen, and she can’t wait. In just a few weeks she’ll have the operation that will turn her from a repellent ugly into a stunning pretty. And as a pretty, she’ll be catapulted into a high-tech paradise where her only job is to have fun.

But Tally’s new friend Shay isn’t sure she wants to become a pretty. When Shay runs away, Tally learns about a whole new side of the pretty world– and it isn’t very pretty. The authorities offer Tally a choice: find her friend and turn her in, or never turn pretty at all. Tally’s choice will change her world forever…


I read this series about 11 years ago (I was a teenager then, the bad ole rebellion days lol) and I remember being so thrilled about discovering this series in my local library. This series was the one that introduced me to the Dystopian genre and I will forever be grateful for that. I loved every second of it, despite the low ratings on Goodreads.

Have you read this series? What are your thoughts? Let’s chat in the comments!


Follow me on Twitter: @ChicNerdReads
Friend me on Goodreads: Gretchen (ChicNerdReads)

28 thoughts on “Series Saturday

  1. I have heard so many things about this series but haven’t picked it up yet. I might just one day! I’m glad you enjoyed this series!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh this is such a great pick Gretchen. I loved the Uglies series when I first picked it up (which was ages ago because I was still in high school when I read these books), although now I can’t remember a single thing that happened so I guess I need to re-read it at some point. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I read the first book and liked it well enough but I never continued on to the second book :/ However, this series was also the first to introduce me to the dystopian genre, so I love it for that! Great pick, Gretchen! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I remember in middle school everyone but me read this series and now my little sisters are begging me to read it because they loved it 😂. I’ll definitely have to give in one of these days. I love this whole Series Saturday meme. I might have to join in sometime. Great pick, Gretchen! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Honestly, I wasn’t reading way back when. I was doing drugs. But I came across this series two years ago, right when I made my foray into YA lit, and I loved it for what it was: cute dystopian novels. Back then, I was devouring anything remotely dystopian and was searching for books “like the Hunger Games” in Google. Lol.
    I can’t believe it was that long ago. And I can’t believe these books are that old. And then Westerfeld published Afterworlds, which I haven’t ever seen a review on, and then he came out with Zeroes, which I liked. Have you read anything else by him?

    Like

Leave a comment