Life Update and Currently Reading

Hey everyone! Hope you’re all having a lovely weekend. So if you’re from the United States, you know it’s 4th of July weekend and the BBQ’s plus fireworks are everywhere and anywhere. I wanted to apologize for being absent these past few days. When 4th of July comes around, my anxiety gets really bad because of all the fireworks and the screaming. Yesterday alone, my block had fireworks till literally 4am. I am restless. And when my anxiety gets really bad, I shut myself off and prefer losing myself to a book.

Because of all my restlessness, I finished Clockwork Princess faster than I had anticipated and I have started November Rain (Bad Bloods #1) by Shannon A. Thompson. The author personally contacted me so I can read this book and review it.

28965354

Here’s the Goodreads Synopsis:

Fans of Red Queen and The Hunger Games Trilogy will love this new series by Shannon A. Thompson.
Seventeen-year-old Serena isn’t human. She is a bad blood, and in the city of Vendona, bad bloods are executed. In the last moments before she faces imminent death, a prison guard aids her escape and sparks a revolt. Back on the streets determined to destroy her kind, Serena is spared by a fellow bad blood named Daniel. His past tragedies are as equally mysterious as her connection to them. Unbeknownst to the two, this connection is the key to winning the election for bad bloods’ rights to be seen as human again. But Serena is the only one who can secure Vendona’s vote. Now, Daniel must unite with her before all hope is lost and bad bloods are eradicated, even if it means exposing secrets worse than death itself. United or not, a city will fight, rain will fall, and all will be threatened by star-crossed love and political corruption

So far I’m enjoying how fast paced this is. I’m only on the second chapter so I can’t tell you much except it starts off really good!

Thursday Quotables

Welcome to Thursday Quotables! A meme hosted by Book Shelf Fantasies. This weekly feature is the place to highlight a great quote, line, or passage discovered during your reading each week. Whether it’s something funny, startling, gut-wrenching, or just really beautifully written, Thursday Quotables is where my favorite lines of the week will be, and you’re invited to join in!

This weeks quote is from my current read, Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare.

“One must always be careful of books,” said Tessa, “and what is inside them, for words have the power to change us.”

24885649

Currently Reading

Before I get into this can we just admire this beauty:

24885649
Annnnnd I’m back!

Okay so I’m currently reading Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare and I’m about 31% into it according to Goodreads. I am really enjoying this book a lot more than I did City of Bones. I’m comparing them because they’re the first book in a series that are set in the same world.

A lot of people who personally know me have told me that I would love this trilogy way more than The Mortal Instruments. Let’s see if that’s true.

So far I’m loving the female characters and how Cassandra makes a point that although this is set in the 1800s, women in the Shadowhunter universe are equal as men. And the Shadowhunter men treat the women as such.

I’m loving the writing in this book and the setting so much! I feel like I’m there in London in the 1800s wearing these beautiful dresses.

So no complaints as of yet.

Have you read this trilogy? What did you think? And if you also read The Mortal Instruments, did you read it by publication date?

Currently Reading

Hey everyone so I wanted to update all of you on what I’m currently reading. I’m more than halfway through City of Glass by Cassandra Clare. This is the third installment to The Mortal Instruments series. So far I’m really enjoying it and I’m hoping to finish the book tonight so I can start The Infernal Devices.

I’m so happy that I can say I am apart of the Shadowhunter universe. Even though I’m only on the third installment but like I said I’m enjoying it!

In my opinion:

  • Clary isn’t as annoying as Jace
  • Umm Simon!!!!!! Omg I so wasn’t expecting his transformation. I thought he was going to be another Matthew from The Vampire Diaries
  • Sebastian…I knew not to trust that guy
  • MAGNUS IS 700 YEARS OLD. HOLY MOTHER OF GOD!!!!!!!!!!
  • I’m still waiting on Cassandra Clare to be like “SURPRISE THE TWO MAIN CHARACTERS AREN’T RELATED”….then I can deep sigh

Cross fingers that I can finish this book tonight.

Currently Reading

Last night I finally decided to dive into the world of The Mortal Instruments and OMG, I am so happy that I finally started this series. I am currently on the first few pages of City of Bones. I will not lie that it has gotten a little hard for me to separate the character descriptions from what I’m reading then from what I’ve seen the characters to look like (due to the show, tumblr hype, and twitter hype). However, I’m getting there. It’s an easy read and I should finish in no time. I do really want to get to The Infernal Devices though because of how I heard the world is set up.