Life Update and Currently Reading

Hey everyone! Hope you’re all having a lovely weekend. So if you’re from the United States, you know it’s 4th of July weekend and the BBQ’s plus fireworks are everywhere and anywhere. I wanted to apologize for being absent these past few days. When 4th of July comes around, my anxiety gets really bad because of all the fireworks and the screaming. Yesterday alone, my block had fireworks till literally 4am. I am restless. And when my anxiety gets really bad, I shut myself off and prefer losing myself to a book.

Because of all my restlessness, I finished Clockwork Princess faster than I had anticipated and I have started November Rain (Bad Bloods #1) by Shannon A. Thompson. The author personally contacted me so I can read this book and review it.

28965354

Here’s the Goodreads Synopsis:

Fans of Red Queen and The Hunger Games Trilogy will love this new series by Shannon A. Thompson.
Seventeen-year-old Serena isn’t human. She is a bad blood, and in the city of Vendona, bad bloods are executed. In the last moments before she faces imminent death, a prison guard aids her escape and sparks a revolt. Back on the streets determined to destroy her kind, Serena is spared by a fellow bad blood named Daniel. His past tragedies are as equally mysterious as her connection to them. Unbeknownst to the two, this connection is the key to winning the election for bad bloods’ rights to be seen as human again. But Serena is the only one who can secure Vendona’s vote. Now, Daniel must unite with her before all hope is lost and bad bloods are eradicated, even if it means exposing secrets worse than death itself. United or not, a city will fight, rain will fall, and all will be threatened by star-crossed love and political corruption

So far I’m enjoying how fast paced this is. I’m only on the second chapter so I can’t tell you much except it starts off really good!

17 thoughts on “Life Update and Currently Reading

  1. Are you doing any better today, friend? I’m sorry to hear that the fireworks are triggering for you, but I hope your anxiety eases up soon. I skipped the parade this year because of my own anxiety, so I join you in solidarity and book reading. Clockwork Princess is one of my favorite books! I’m excited to hear what you think of it. Bad Bloods looks really cool too, I’ll keep an eye out for it on the shelves πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • I was doing just fine today till the fireworks started up again since it’s 7:26pm and people go wild at night over here with them. Thanks so much for asking!! Sorry to hear about your own anxiety, how are you feeling???
      Clockwork Princess review is up on my blog already =)
      Thanks so much for taking your time to read and write =D

      Liked by 1 person

      • I just saw that you had posted your CP review right after I commented, haha. Do you have some headphones to listen to music with and drown out the noise from outside? Sometimes that helps me out. I’m doing just fine, just working on some upcoming posts for this week while my partner is playing video games next to me. Thank you for asking, though ❀ & of course, I'm happy to check in and chat whenever! I also just love reading your reviews, especially your spot-on gif usage πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Gretchen! i’m right there with you hun, I skipped out on a couple of invitations to see the fireworks because of my anxiety/migraines. It’s pretty cool though that you finished Clockwork Princess, it was worth you putting in work all day lol. November Rain (Bad Bloods#1) looks interesting, good synopsis on Goodreads πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m sorry your anxiety is making you restless, do the fireworks usually only last the single day for 4th July or do people extend it into sort of a whole week thing? I hope it was only yesterday and you have been able to relax today.
    Sending hugs your way!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

